Best of the Web
Gemma P
Friday, February 5, 2016 - 12:37

Apple users you must not open this scam text!


Apple users are being warned not to open a text that seems to be sent by Apple which encourages them to share their personal details. 

There is a scam making it to the screens of iPhones everywhere. Apple users are being warned to not open a text message that seems to be sent by the company itself.

The message tells users that their account has been frozen and that they need to validate their iTunes account to avoid suspension.

The tech super giant said in a statement,

“The iTunes Store will never ask you to provide personal information or sensitive account information (such as passwords or credit card numbers) via email. Email messages that contain attachments or links to non-Apple websites are from sources other than Apple, although they may appear to be from the iTunes Store.”

“More often, these attachments are malicious and should not be opened. You should never enter your Apple account information on any non-Apple website.”

In the text the URL is shorten into a smaller font, so it appears just to say iTunes, however if you open the link it contains a major virus that will cause havoc on your device. 


It’s been a tough time for Apple as of late, just last week they recalled Australian power adaptors. The company said, 

“Apple has determined that, in very rare cases, the two prong Apple AC wall plug adapters designed for use in Continental Europe, Australia, New Zealand, Korea, Argentina and Brazil may break and create a risk of electrical shock if touched. These wall plug adapters shipped from 2003 to 2015 with Mac and certain iOS devices, and were included in the Apple World Travel Adapter Kit.”

So team, we have been warned… Be careful of what you open on your phone!